Project: LGiU & CCLA’s C’llr Achievement Awards 2017

LGiU and CCLA’s C’llr Achievement Awards are back for 2017, the only awards celebrating the important work of councillors and the highlight of the year for elected members across England and Wales!

Shortlist 2017

Community Champion

  • Mark Shaw – Buckinghamshire County Council
  • Karen Bellamy – London Borough of Waltham Forest
  • Anna King – Northampton Borough Council
  • Emma Evans – Adur District Council
  • Alison Teal – Sheffield City Council
  • Mohammed Amran – Bradford City Council

iESE’s Finance and Transformation Award

  • Andy Malcolm – Luton Borough Council
  • Cherry Parker – Royal Borough of Greenwich
  • Janet Blake – Aylesbury Vale District Council
  • James Halden – Thurrock Council
  • Chris Ready – Wigan Council

Health and Care Award

  • Maureen Worby – London Borough of Barking and Dagenham
  • Mohammed Khan – Blackburn with Darwen Council
  • Paul Brant – Liverpool City Council
  • Susan Little – Thurrock Council
  • Daniel Yates – Brighton & Hove Council

Leader of the Year

  • Darren Rodwell – London Borough of Barking and Dagenham
  • Muhammed Butt – London Borough of Brent
  • Louise McKinlay – Brentwood Council
  • John Fuller – South Norfolk District Council
  • Peter Fleming – Sevenoaks District Council
  • Donna Jones – Portsmouth City Council
  • Nickie Aiken – Westminster City Council

Place-shaping and Environment Award

  • Paul Smith – Bristol City Council
  • John Harbour – Burnley Council
  • Jayne McCoy – London Borough of Sutton
  • Alan Clark – Nottingham City Council
  • Abi Brown – Stoke-on-Trent Council

Technology and Digital Award

  • John Chilver – Buckinghamshire County Council
  • Paul Deach – Surrey Heath District Council
  • Mick Legg – Milton Keynes City Council
  • Peter Marland – Milton Keynes City Council

Young Councillor of the Year

  • Matt Kelcher – London Borough of Brent
  • Lauren Mitchell – Ashfield Council
  • Magid Magid – Sheffield City Council
  • Natasha Airey – Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead
  • Hashim Bhatti – Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead

Is your council a member of LGiU?  Councillors and officers of member councils receive Daily News, Policy Briefings, Cllr Magazine and exclusive access to Policy Cafe events. Find out more about membership.

About the Awards

On Tuesday 7th November 2017 we will welcome 200 of the brightest and best councillors, as well as council leaders, other senior local government figures and MPs, for an evening of celebration and networking against the beautiful background of the Guildhall in London. We pride ourselves on hosting a light-hearted and relaxed event, which guests in previous years have told us they appreciate more than black-tie or formal dinners – so the ceremony is a standing reception, with food and drink served all evening.

We promote nominations from May through to September, gathering around 200 entries from councillor colleagues, local MPs and residents. The shortlist is announced in October and the judging panel convenes before the ceremony in November. The winners are announced on the night by LGiU Chief Executive Jonathan Carr-West.

Award categories


Our sponsors

This year’s awards are possible thanks to the generous support of our founding sponsors CCLA, who are partnering with us for the 6th year in a row.

CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities.  When they began sponsoring the C’llr Achievement Awards they had 22 local authority accounts.  Today they have 426 and this number is growing every month.  They are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size.

The awards are also kindly supported by:

Sponsorship opportunities are still available for individual award categories. Download the sponsorship brochure or speak to Jennifer Glover on 020 7554 2800 or for further information.

Judging and winners

The winners have be selected by a group of judges made up of senior councillors and officers and will be announced on the evening of the awards (7th November). Follow #CllrAward17 for updates.

  • Cllr Jennie Jenkins, Leader of Babergh District Council
  • Amanda Skelton, Chief Executive of Redcar & Cleveland Council
  • Cllr Georgia Gould, Leader of London Borough of Camden
  • Cllr Richard Wright, Leader of North Kesteven District Council
  • Councillor Ranjit Banwait, Leader of Derby City Council
  • Janet Waggott, Chief Executive of Ryedale District Council
  • Cllr Mark Crane, Leader of Selby District Council
  • Cllr Sarah King, Chief Whip at London Borough of Southwark

We’d like to thank our judges for kindly giving up their time and for their diligence and thoughtfulness in considering the nominations.


This is an invitation-only event and tickets will be free of charge to guests. We will begin inviting people in early Autumn. Visit the event page for details.

C’llr Achievement Awards 2016: highlights

For the first time since the awards began, C’llr Achievement Awards 2016 took place in the Guildhall’s Livery Hall, a beautiful setting that gave the ceremony the prestige that befitted the celebration. We also doubled the number of guests to 200, while retaining the same informal and convivial atmosphere. Councillors travelled from all corners of the England and Wales in order to attend, from Redcar and Bradford to Glamorgan and Brighton.

We were honoured to have speeches from distinguished local government figures such as Lord Porter, Chair of the Local Government Association, and Baroness Thornhill, Mayor of Watford. The event received significant social media (#CllrAwards2016) and press pickup, featuring on BBC regional radio, Yorkshire Post, Birmingham Mail and others.

Useful information


C’llr Awards 2016

Past winners

@LGiU  #CllrAwards17