C’llr Achievement Awards: Bruce-Lockhart Member Scholarship

This special award, with a £10,000 bursary for the winner, is in recognition of the outstanding contribution to Local Government of Lord Sandy Bruce-Lockhart, the former Chairman of the Local Government Association and Leader of Kent County Council.

The ‘Bruce-Lockhart Member Scholarship’ will recognise and reward leadership potential in local government and be awarded to elected members who demonstrate the potential to develop into leadership positions in the future.

Applicants for this award will need to demonstrate their track record and potential for local leadership. This may include any of the following:

  • Evidence of impact locally – within your ward, the borough as a whole and the council itself
  • Evidence that you have influenced local policy
  • Evidence that your voice has been heard nationally within the sector or that you have contributed to national debate
  • Evidence that you have contributed to local government innovation
  • Wider evidence of leadership in pursuit of professional, community or personal interests

Proposals will be judged against the objectives of the Bruce-Lockhart leadership programme, which are to:

  • promote the case for localism and government at a local level through the exchange of ideas nationally and/or internationally. (Foreign travel may be included)
  • encourage successful ideas to be put into practice to advance the cause of localism and government at a local level within the UK
  • publish or present findings to promote best practice nationally and to raise the status both of local leadership and of local government in the UK.

As part of the assessment, applicants for the Scholarship will also need to develop:

  • A scholarship proposal which will promote the case for localism and government at a local level – a project worth up to £10,000 to be completed within the year with a presentation to the prestigious annual Bruce-Lockhart Lecture.

Download a submission form for the Bruce-Lockhart Member Scholarship here

See the 2015 winner of this award. 

See past winners of this award here.

This award is supported by Kent, Essex and East Sussex Councils.