Briefing: The vanishing high street: the Grimsey Review

Policy product type
LGiU essential policy briefing
Published date
September 18, 2013
Author
Majeed Neky, LGiU Associate
Issues Covered
  • business rates
  • grimsey
  • grimsey review
  • high streets
  • Portas
  • retail
  • Town centres
Categories
Economy and Regeneration, Housing and Planning, Rural issues, Social media and digital technology, Voluntary Sector and Community Engagement
Related briefings

The Portas Review: The Future of our High Streets (December 2011)

Public car parking and local government: key trends and developments (January 2012)

Reinventing our Town Centres: Agendas for 2012-15 (May 2012)

Local Government Finance Act 2012 – Non-domestic rates (January 2013)

Planning update summer 2013 (June 2013)

The future of high streets: progress since the Portas Review (July 2013)

The last three years have seen various strands of work, by Government, local authorities and civil society to draw together policies and measures to help preserve and rejuvenate high streets and town centres, notably activity stemming from Mary Portas’ Government-commissioned review in 2011. In September 2013, former Wickes and Iceland Chief Executive Bill Grimsey released a rival review, put together by an expert team and explicitly set up as an alternative to Portas’ work, which Grimsey criticised. This briefing summarises the main points of Grimsey’s review and briefly discusses its context, reception and likely future. This briefing is relevant to councillors and officers across all areas and all tiers of local government, particularly those involved with planning and economic development.

Subscriber content

Some of our content is only available to members and officers in LGiU member organisations. Check if your organisation is a member.

Please sign in with your email address below and we'll check your email address against our list of registered members, or send you an invoice later. See our briefings terms and conditions.

Important: by signing in here, you agree to be invoiced for access if your organisation isn't already a subscriber